Kissing is like Liturgy and/or devotions.

I haven’t been married long.  But one habit Celeste and I have created is that we almost always kiss before we get out of the car.   Even if we just had a heated discussion, kissing reminds us that we are committed to each other, that we love each other, and that despite wherever we are at emotionally at this moment, we are faithful and full of faith towards the other.  It is a habit of commitment which in turn draws us towards each other.

Kissing, like liturgy or devotions (reading a passage and meditating on it each day) is not always a response to a feeling.  I don’t only kiss my wife when I am madly in love with her and have strong feelings.  I kiss her because I love her, of course, but sometimes the kiss reminds me of what our relationship is– sometimes the kiss reinstantiates the commitment, directs me towards what really matters, and keeps me focused.  A kiss is not merely an expression of some feeling– it can at times revive those types of feelings.  A kiss is a habit of concern which awakens in us a habituated direction or directiveness towards (in this case) my loved one– Celeste.  (Who but philosophers could talk this way 🙂

In the same way then, liturgy (or devotions) are habits which direct us towards what matters.  They are not merely expressions of feelings, but they at times help direct our passions towards what can awaken our feelings of love, devotion, and concern.  At times I go into liturgy not entirely ‘feeling’ close to God, but, in the practice, I am drawn back to God and to my first love.  The distractions fade away and again I remember what really matters.    As I say the Apostle’s Creed with other believers, it becomes more real to me, as I sing a song with others, it awakens and reminds me of what I believe, and as I take the bread and wine with others, that solidarity reinforces my belief and commitments.

That is what kissing can do.  It is what liturgy can do.  It is what devotions and spiritual exercises can do.

The next time you don’t ‘feel like’ pursuing God, or spiritual practices– remember that that act of pursuit is often the initiation which can ignite the true passion.  To act when you don’t ‘feel like it’ is not inauthentic rote– it can be soul habit which primes the pump of real spiritual engagement. 

May God have mercy on us all.

4 responses to “Kissing is like Liturgy and/or devotions.

  1. I am really loving the theme/design of your web site. Do you ever run
    into any browser compatibility problems? A few
    of my blog audience have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Opera.
    Do you have any recommendations to help fix this problem?

  2. However it is important to realize that the Fat Loss Factor is not a panacea
    that will magically remove any fat and If you are looking for a “lose 10 pounds in 10 days magical programs”, then The Fat Loss Factor is probably not for you.
    If the your body fat is above 25% but below 30% (Women) or above 20% but below 25% ( Men) then you are
    overweight, you are carrying more fat around than you need or
    that is healthy for you and it probably means you are eating too much of
    the wrong foods. Protein is needed daily for lean muscles
    and they need to be taken daily in small amounts.

  3. “His [Tesla’s] thoughts and efforts during at least the past 15 years were primarily of a speculative, philosophical, and somewhat promotional character often concerned with the production and wireless transmission of power; but did not include new, sound, workable principles or methods for realizing such results. It is said that people can get as much energy as they want from the Nikola Tesla generator especially when it comes to supporting the household. Is the Nikola Tesla free energy generator concept a scam.

  4. The more time you spend with someone, the quicker you
    build a relationship with them. You don’t want to be just a blip on a woman’s radar, you want to
    make her remember you. You don’t need to use an exact pick up line either, lots of
    women find these insulting when men use them.

Leave a Reply

