As long as it is day…

“As long as it is day, we must do the work of him who sent me. Night is coming, when no one can work.” — Jesus (John 9:4)

One of my favorite songs by Depeche Mode has the following lyrics:

I’m waiting for the night to fall
I know that it will save us all
When everything’s dark
Keeps us from the stark reality

I’m waiting for the night to fall
When everything is bearable
And there in the still
All that you feel is tranquillity

There is a sound in the calm
Someone is coming to harm
I press my hands to my ears
It’s easier here just to forget fear

And when I squinted
The world seemed rose-tinted
And angels appeared to descend
To my surprise
With half-closed eyes
Things looked even better
Than when they were open
I’m waiting for the night to fall…

This song is beautiful, sad, serene, and powerful. There are times when we want to escape from the reality we see, when we want to hide and squint and hope things may be different than they seem. We hope to forget.

But Christ encourages us in some way to fight against this escapism, to do the work God has called us to, despite frustration, setbacks, and even boredom.  Jesus encourages us to be diligent and committed to be faithful workers as long as it is still day…

I like to keep busy. Work can be therapy, it can also be an escape of course. Workaholics know this. But there is a call to diligence and productivity in the Bible. God wants our lives to count for something. So it is good to consider on a regular basis: of what use is my life? What am I doing that has lasting value to God?

Paul said this in his letter to Titus:

“I want you to stress these things, so that those who have trusted in God may be careful to devote themselves to doing what is good. These things are excellent and profitable for everyone.” (Titus 3:8)

“Our people must learn to devote themselves to doing what is good, in order that they may provide for daily necessities and not live unproductive lives” (Titus 3:14)

There is a limited economy of time. Time is finite for each of us. Death is coming. Christ is coming. So it is up to us to make the most of what we have. Christ encourages us to keep at it “as long as it is day”– i.e., as long as we still have time.

If we are still breathing, we still have time.

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all int he name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the father through him.” (Col 3:17)

I hope you find joy today in the work that God has given you to do…

May God have mercy on us all…

Leave a Reply

