Just a Moment

If you could capture one moment in your life, what would it be? Would it be a moment of regret? Would it be a moment of great joy? That one moment has most likely changed your life. Whether it was a rather mundane moment or an exhilarating moment, it has probably affected every moment to come. Moments aren’t isolated or disconnected from each other. However small a moment might seem, it can have a huge impact on your life to come.

Now think of all the moments lost in your life? Maybe it was a decision that you knew you should have made but failed to do so. Two days ago my cousin Zach and I were sitting on the porch and he noticed an older lady sitting alone on the front steps of the apartment across the street. I had two options that moment: I could walk over to her and just talk and find out her story, or I could continue sitting on the porch and eat our freshly grilled bratwursts. I decided to continue to sit on the porch. It was a moment lost. Had I gone over and talked to her maybe nothing would have happened. Maybe she wasn’t lonely and was just outside enjoying the soft warm breeze. She could have been taking some much needed alone time from a busy life. But I would guess my visit would have gone over only too well. I think that she would have appreciated a young man coming over and just asking how she was and finding out about her day. I think the small act of showing her my compassion would have maybe even made her day. That small moment might have had a greater affect on her life than what I know.

I chose not to act on that moment and have realized I can never get that moment back. That’s the tough things about moments, once they are gone, they are in the past. You can remember moments, but you can’t ever truly relive or change them. I lost this moment, and it’s one I can never get back.

I want to encourage you to take advantage of as many moments as you can. Although moments are as numerous as the stars in the sky, and not all of them are significant, all of them COULD be defining moments in your life. You rarely know the eternal significance of a moment when it happens, but moments can have lasting impact. After looking at all the moments lost in my life, I know that I will be more aware and prepared to take advantage of moments in the future.
-Mo

One response to “Just a Moment

  1. i like this.

Leave a Reply

